jump to navigation

Perl 5.14.0 Solaris failing tests May 19, 2011

Posted by claudio in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’m preparing –together with the nice people from OpenCSW– a bug report for p5p with information about the failing tests for a Solaris10-Sparc-64-bit-threaded perl.

In case you wonder, most failing tests are related to threading. But even when building a non-treaded version there are some failing tests (Failed 10 tests out of 1961, 99.49% okay). The threaded 32-bit version passes all the tests. The Solaris9-Sparc-64-bit-threaded perl seems to build and test fine as well, but I need to verify it (e.g. that we are testing exactly the same thing).

Ping me here in case you have this combination working. Patches to p5p are always better than bugs rapports  :) . Mental note: “I will test the RC releases on other OSes than GNU/Linux next time”.

Comments»

1. Robert - June 2, 2011

Any updates on this? I just attempted compiling 5.14.0 on Solaris with similar issues. I have 13 failed tests once I turn off threading. I am using relocatable includes and think a few of the errors are likely related to that, others I am not sure. If I enable threads, things build OK but I get tons of errors related to threading. This is all better than 5.12.3, which I could never get past the building of miniperl (bus error vs. segfault running miniperl between 64/32 bit there). Building with Sun Studio 12 Compiler on ‘Solaris 10 8/07 s10s_u4wos_12b SPARC’.

claudio - June 2, 2011

I created a bug report: http://rt.perl.org/rt3//Public/Bug/Display.html?id=91678

It looks like we are having exact the same problems for Perl 5.14.0. For 5.12.3 it’s a little weird: it compiles (64-bit, threaded) and tests just fines on my machines.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

