jump to navigation

Be nice to me and I’ll be nice to you (ebooks) February 25, 2012

Posted by claudio in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I love it when I get a fair deal in this greedy digital world. Paying twice for the same content is something I really dislike.

Besides the content, I like chromatic’s way of doing business: you can freely download the DRM-free pdf of his book (Modern Perl) even if you don’t buy a hard copy. Guess what, I bought the book the day it came out.

Although O’Reilly does make you pay for the electronic content of a printed book you already own, they give you a very fair deal: “Upgrade to the electronic version of any print book you’ve registered at oreilly.com, for just $4.99″.

I just got the DRM-free digital version of 5 O’Reilly paper books I already own and I don’t feel cheated at all. Be careful though not to mix offers like the 5$ book “upgrade” the half price for new releases of books you own. In this case you’ll pay half price of the full ebook price instead of the 5 $.

This is how you make customers happy. Treat me with respect and I won’t mind sending some money your way once in a while.

Comments»

1. Ken - February 28, 2012

The word “upgrade” is a misnomer. It’s just a digital copy of the exact same book you already own.

They do, however, offer significant discounts on more up to date versions of titles you have registered.

claudio - February 28, 2012

I agree, hence the quotes in my post. However, getting a pdf, an ebook and some other formats (e.g. mobi, apk) DRM-free is a big win in this multi-devices epoch :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

